La Coalition pour mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes

The Coalition to End Violence Against Women (CEVAW) and Rodman Hall Art Centre announce that they have established a partnership to bring a significant International Poster Exhibition to St. Catharines from February 28th, 2013 to March 7th, 2013 (the eve of International Women’s Day). Read more.

 

Notre mission

La Coalition pour mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes (CEVAW) agit comme une voix collective pour les organismes de la région de Niagara dont elle se compose. Elle s’emploie à mettre fin à la violence faite aux femmes grâce à la sensibilisation, à l’éducation, au partage de renseignements, au réseautage ainsi qu’à l’identification et à l’élimination des obstacles systémiques qui la perpétuent.

À propos de la Coalition pour mettre fin ȧ la violence faite aux femmes

Nous croyons que la violence faite aux femmes et aux enfants résulte de l’inégalité entre les sexes ainsi que de l’abus de pouvoir et de contrôle. La violence est un schéma de comportement. Elle peut prendre plusieurs formes : violence physique, sexuelle, émotionnelle, financière ou psychologique. Nous reconnaissons que les hommes sont souvent les auteurs de violence et croyons que toute personne a le droit de vivre une vie exempte de violence et sans crainte de violence. Nous préconisons la « tolérance zéro ».

Nous croyons que les enfants témoins de violence ont des besoins distincts auxquels il faut répondre et que la sécurité des femmes et des enfants revêt une importance capitale. Nous croyons qu’il importe de donner du pouvoir aux femmes pour éliminer les mauvais traitements, que la violence est un problème sociétal qui ne peut être éradiqué que si on s’y attaque à tous les échelons et que les auteurs de violence doivent être tenus responsables de leurs actes. Nous croyons que les survivantes de violence apportent une perspective importante à la planification de la prestation de services dans notre communauté.

Par ailleurs, nous croyons que les activités auxquelles nous nous livrons en tant que collectif devraient être adaptées aux besoins distincts de toutes les personnes touchées, peu importe leur culture, leur origine ethnique, leur religion, leur orientation sexuelle, leurs capacités physiques ou mentales, leur langue et leur statut socio-économique. Nous croyons qu’en tant que coalition, nous devons rendre des comptes à nos parties prenantes. Enfin, nous croyons que les meilleures solutions résultent d’un processus respectueux et collaboratif.

The Coalition to End Violence Against Women (CEVAW)

CEVAW presents “A Journey to Healing and Empowerment” Student Art Exhibit at Doubletree Fallsview Resort, Niagara Falls opening March 5-8, 2018. CEVAW is also hosting a free screening on Monday, March 19th at the FirstOntario Performing Arts Centre Film House. An hour long panel discussion will follow. For more information on either of these events please visit our latest news section.

 

Our Mission

The Coalition to End Violence Against Women (CEVAW) is a diverse collective voice of organizations from the Niagara Region that is working toward ending gender-based violence against all women, and their children, by raising public awareness, educating, sharing information, networking, and identifying and breaking down systemic barriers that perpetuate violence.

About CEVAW

We believe that violence against women and their children is the result of gender inequality and the abuse of power and control. Abuse involves patterned behaviour and can be physical, sexual, emotional, financial or psychological. We recognize that men are most often the perpetrators of this violence and we believe it is every person's right to live free of violence and the fear of violence. We believe in zero tolerance.

We believe child witnesses of abuse have distinct needs that have to be addressed, and that the safety of women and children is of paramount importance. We believe the empowerment of women and children is essential to eliminating abuse, that violence is a societal issue which can only be eliminated if addressed at all levels and perpetrators must be held accountable for their actions. We believe that survivors of violence bring an important perspective to the planning and delivery of services in our community.

Further, we believe that the activities we engage in as a coalition should be responsive to the distinct needs of all persons, regardless of culture, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation and physical or mental abilities, language and social economic status. We believe that as a coalition we are accountable to our stakeholders. We believe that solutions are best generated through a collaborative, respectful approach.